Multitasking

I feel like I’m completely comfortable performing most tasks asked of me in the shell from the command line.  However, this post reminded me of some functionality that I knew of but haven’t gotten into the habit of using.  (E.g. The “hat” substitution was a convenient shortcut I just used to to quickly switch between tailing my log and tailing the production log.)

Speaking of efficiency and shortcuts, I’ve become quite comfortable with using screen and screen shortcuts; though the thought came to mind, given that I’ve certainly run into more than one person that has not used screen regularly, that other people were used to doing things differently.  I haven’t had extensive use of backgrounding / foregrounding processes – but I would assume that’s what most other people were doing?  And if so, how do people keep track of what’s going on easily?

Leave a Reply

